Minister Ross Announces Reciprocal Agreement on Exchange of Driving Licences with Saskatchewan, Canada

Friday 07 June 2019

The Minister for Transport, Tourism and Sport, Mr Shane Ross TD, has signed an agreement with the Canadian province of Saskatchewan on reciprocal exchange of driving licences.

This means that holders of Irish driving licences who take up residence in Saskatchewan may now exchange their driving licences for the Saskatchewan equivalent, and holders of Saskatchewan driving licences taking up residence in Ireland may exchange their licences for the Irish equivalent.

Speaking today, Minister Ross said ‘I am very pleased to announce this agreement on driving licence exchange with Saskatchewan. For some time now we have been working towards agreement on driving licence exchange with the Canadian provinces. With this agreement we now have exchange arrangements in place with five of the ten provinces, and work is continuing on reaching agreement with the remaining five.’

‘This agreement will be of particular benefit to Irish people who have moved to Saskatchewan or are planning to. It will also help people from Saskatchewan – including returning Irish emigrants – to move more easily to Ireland. This agreement underlines in particular our commitment to Ireland’s diaspora, whether those currently seeking work abroad or those who wish to come home.’

The agreement with Saskatchewan is the fifth such agreement with a Canadian province, following those already in place with Ontario, Manitoba, Newfoundland & Labrador, and British Columbia.

Press Office, Department of Transport, Tourism and Sport, 01 604 1090 / 01 604 1093; Click here to unsubscribe. 

Initial Publication Date: