Statement on Dublin Airport by the Chairman of the National Civil Aviation Security Committee

The following statement has been issued by John Fearon, the Chairman of the National Civil Aviation Security Committee at the Department of Transport, Tourism and Sport, following its meeting this afternoon.
“As Chairman, I convened a meeting of the Committee to brief it on the outcome of the recent audit by the European Commission of security arrangements at Dublin Airport.
“It’s important to note that Dublin Airport is safe for passengers, aircraft and all users of the airport.
“I am not in a position to publicly disclose the EU Commission’s findings, other than to say that two particular deficiencies were identified. On this basis, some additional security procedures will apply to aircraft departing from Dublin and arriving into other EU airports.
“The Department of Transport, Tourism and Sport has been working closely with the Dublin Airport Authority to ensure that the deficiencies identified are rectified as soon as possible. One issue has already been resolved and we will continue to work closely with the DAA and all relevant entities to ensure that the remaining issue is resolved as soon as possible, to ensure full compliance with EU aviation requirements.
“Dublin Airport is adopting back-up procedures to address the second matter in the short term, while a longer term solution is implemented, and the security of the airport is maintained.
“These additional procedures are not expected to have any significant impact on passengers at Dublin Airport unless they are transferring through another EU airport en route to their final destination, in which case they may be required to undergo screening again if transiting through a second airport.
“I cannot provide more details information on the audit’s findings on security grounds. I will be keeping the Committee advised of developments.”
Issued by:
Department of Transport, Tourism and Sport Press Office. Tel: (01) 604 1087/(01) 604 1090.
Note for Editors
The National Civil Aviation Security Committee is a standing Committee which was constituted in 1974. The Committee comprises representatives of Government Departments, Irish Airports, Irish airlines, An Garda Síochána, the Defence Forces, An Post, Customs & Excise, the Irish Aviation Authority, and the Irish Airline Pilots Association. The Committee is established under the National Civil Aviation Security Programme which is classified on security grounds. The deliberations of the Committee are therefore confidential.
Initial Publication Date: