The Management Board

The Management Board of the Department of Transport Tourism and Sport has responsibility for overseeing the Department's strategic management and operations.  There are currently six members of the Board; the Secretary General and five Assistant Secretaries.

The Management Board meets weekly to discuss the Department's major matters of interest. Occasionally other members of staff will attend these meetings.

Further information on the members of the Department’s Management Board is set out below;

Graham Doyle - Secretary General


Graham Doyle was appointed Secretary General of the Department of Transport, Tourism and Sport from 1 November 2015.

He joined the Department in 2013 as an external recruit to the Civil Service and was responsible for the Public Transport portfolio with Sustainable Transport and Freight.  

Prior to joining the Civil Service, Graham was CEO of Waterford Airport.  In 2004 and 2005, he was Financial Advisor to the Department of Transport on secondment from PwC, where he worked on the consulting side for eleven years.  

A Chartered Accountant by profession, Graham also holds a Bachelor of Business Studies, a Masters of Accounting and an MBA. He recently graduated from the British Civil Service’s Major Projects Leadership Academy at Oxford University.  

Telephone        +353 1 6041347

Fintan Towey - Assistant Secretary

Fintan Towey is a career civil servant with extensive experience in network industries spanning transport, energy and telecommunications.  Before being appointed Director General of Civil Aviation, Fintan most recently held senior roles in public transport, civil aviation and corporate management. Civil aviation responsibilities embraced international agreements, air navigation services policy, regulatory structures and airline relations. During a Brussels posting, he represented Ireland on the European Council of Ministers’ Working Groups for Aviation and Land Transport and chaired the Groups for a Presidency term. In his career to date Fintan has gained wide experience of market liberalisation, frameworks for economic and safety regulation, State Company shareholder roles, privatisation and management of organisational change. 

Telephone:    + 353 1 6041510

Deirdre O'Keeffe - Assistant Secretary

Deirdre O’Keeffe is the Assistant Secretary with responsibility for Maritime Transport, including the Irish Coastguard, for the Economic and Financial Evaluation Unit and for the Department’s Internal Audit function.  Deirdre joined the Department in February 2015 having previously served in senior management roles in the Departments of Justice, Education, Marine and Finance, as a Statistician in the Central Statistics Office and as a Director/Secretary to Fáilte Ireland.  She holds a Bachelor Degree in Mathematics, Masters degrees in Public Sector Policy (MSc (Econ)) and Organisation Development (MSc (PSA)) - from Trinity College Dublin - and a PhD in Economics (Public Sector Analysis) from University College Dublin.  She also holds a professional qualification in Statistics (by examination) from the Institute of Statisticians in London, and a teaching qualification from Trinity College London, as well as diplomas from Boston College, Harvard University and the London Business School.  

Telephone: + 353 1 6783412



  Ray O'Leary        - Assistant Secretary


Ray O’Leary is the Assistant Secretary dealing with Roads and Road Safety, as well as Finance and ICT.  He also has administrative responsibilities for the Air and Rail Accident Investigation Units which operate independently of the Department under EU and international law.  His area covers the Department’s investment, policy and oversight roles in relation to investment in roads, and a range of areas relating to road safety and regulation of traffic generally, including bodies such as Transport Infrastructure Ireland, the Road Safety Authority and the Medical Bureau of Road Safety – as well as overseeing the Department’s critical finance function and significant commitment to ICT development and use.

He previously worked in the Tourism Division and, prior to joining the Department, worked in the Department of Finance and the Department of the Environment.  He has also worked in the former Southern and Eastern Regional Assembly and started his career in UK and Irish local government, after studying Urban and Regional Planning and Civil Engineering.



Telephone:   + 353 1 6041042


Ken Spratt - Assistant Secretary

Ken Spratt is the Assistant Secretary General leading the Tourism function at the Department.  A Civil Servant since 1986, he has served in six government departments, including a spell as a Diplomat at the Irish Embassy in Washington DC.  He has a wide variety of experience in public policy development and implementation, international relations, ICT systems design, HR, industrial relations, corporate governance and regulation.  He has also led and delivered major projects in technically complex fields including broadband and energy.  A committed life-long learner he holds several professional and third level qualifications, including certificates, diplomas and degrees from DIT (HRM), IPA (Economics), NCI (Employment Law), LyIT and UUJ (MSc, Public Sector Innovation).  A member of the Government’s Civil Service Renewal Taskforce, he moved to the Department under the Senior Public Service Mobility programme in October 2015.



Telephone:   + 353 1 6041037




 Deirdre Hanlon - Assistant Secretary    

 Deirdre Hanlon is Assistant Secretary with responsibility for Public Transport and Smarter  Travel functions within the Department.


Telephone:                             +353 1 6041035